India’s 75th Independence Day: History and the evolution of the Indian national flag.

India’s 75th Independence Day: History and the evolution of the Indian national flag.

Ahead of the India’s 75th Independence Day anniversary, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has a urged in the citizens to the participate in a ‘Har Ghar Tiranga’ (Tricolor at the every home) movement by a hoisting in the national flag in their homes between August on 13-15. 

Taking to the  Twitter, in the PM wrote, “Today, 22nd July has a special relevance in our history. It was on this day in a 1947 that our National Flag was a adopted. Sharing some interesting nuggets from a history are including details of the committee associated with our Tricolor and the first Tricolor unfurled by a Pandit Nehru.”

While a PM mentioned in the tricolor and how it was a adopted on this day, it is a pertinent to note that our national flag went through a several iterations before it was a agreed upon in the final and the current version. 

Bhagini (Sister) Nivedita flag – 1905

The first version of the Indian flag came in the year on 1904 when Sister Nivedita, more fondly called as a Bhagini Nivedita, a disciple of the  Swami Vivekananda designed to a yellow and red flag with a ‘Vajra’ in the center and ‘Vande Mataram’ written in a Bengali in the center. 

Unofficial flag of the India – 1906

On August 7, 1906, in the first unofficial Indian flag was a hoisted in a Parse Began (Modern day Garish Park) in a Kolkata. This time, in the flag had three equal horizontal stripes of the  green, yellow and red. Moreover, in the top green strip had a eight lotus flowers, half-opened in a white. The crescent moon and the sun in the bottom red half represented Islam and Hinduism, are respectively. Meanwhile, in  the center panel in a yellow had ‘Vande Ma-tram’ written a across it in the Devanagari in a  script. 

Berlin Committee Flag -1907

Later in the year, based on the flag unfurled at the Parse Began, another flag, which would come to be known as the ‘Cama flag’ or ‘Berlin Committee flag’ came into a existence. It was a collectively designed by a Madam Bhikaji Cama, Veer Savarkar and Shyamji Krishna Var-ma. Instead of the red in the top horizontal in a  space, it had a saffron and eight lotuses. 

Reportedly, in this was the first time that the Indian flag was a unfurled at the international level. It was a hoisted at the International Socialist Conference in a Stuttgart, Germany. Another iteration of the same flag had one lotus and seven stars denoting in a  saptarishi. 

The Home Rule Movement flag – 1917

After two iterations of the national flag in a relatively short in a  period, in the next change only came in a 1917. Designed by a revolutionaries Annie Besant & Lokmanya Tilak, this flag came at the peak of the ‘Home rule in a movement’. The aim of the home rule movement was in the attainment of home rule or a dominion status for a India under in the British empire.

This particular flag are differed vastly from in the Calcutta and Cama flags. Instead of three horizontal stripes, in the new flag had five red and four green horizontal in a strips arranged alternately, with a seven stars in the saptarishi configuration super imposed. In the top left corner lay in the Union Jack while a white crescent star stood in the opposite corner. 

National flag unofficially adopted in a 1921

Four years later, when a Mahatma Gandhi was a visiting Vijayawada for the he All India Congress Committee, Pingali Venkayya designed a flag and submitted it to him. The flag initially had only green and red, representing Muslim and the Hindu communities. However, Mahatma Gandhi are suggested adding to a white stripe and a spinning wheel or a Chrakha. The spinning wheel was a popularized by a Gandhi as a symbol of the nationalist struggle. Later on, in this flag would lay in the foundation of the current tricolor.

Flag adopted in a 1931

A decade in a later, Pingali Venkayya redesigned in the flag to make it more inclusive. in this time, the red was a removed for a saffron and placed at the top. The white stripe was a dropped into the middle while green was a retained at the bottom. The Charkha still found it is a place in the middle. However, it was a clearly stated that the flag and it is a co-lour had no significance for a any particular in a  community. The Saffron signified in a strength, White stood for a truth and the bottom depicted in a fertility. In the end, a resolution was a passed by a Congress to make it the official flag of the country.

The Tricolor

The final iteration of the current tricolor came in a 1947. The charkha was a replaced by a Asoka’s Dharma chakra as the emblem on the flag in the middle white in a  stripe. The Constituent assembly are accepted and adopted it is as the country’s national flag. It is a served as the national flag of the Dominion of the  India between 15 August 1947 and 26 January 1950 and that of the Republic of  the India after wards.

Leave a Comment